February Flooding

For the first time in longer than any of us care to recall, Canberrans were forced to stay indoors for nearly the whole weekend because of heavy rains. Most are saying it’s been a decade since we had this much rain but I don’t think many of us realised just how much until we got the chance to step outside late this afternoon and see just how much water there is around.

February Flooding

All of those scenes are from immediately near my house, in places where normally there is a trickle of a creek, or a bike track, or just brown, dead grassland. To walk outside and hear the sound of rushing water is not something I thought I’d ever experience. Actually, it’s not really something to aspire to as I’m sure there are people around who have suffered water damage to their homes as a result of that rushing water, but that the air moist and the ground no longer baked beneath brittle plant life is such a miraculous change that it has to be celebrated. We weren’t the only ones out and about. It seems many people had the same idea, stepping out of their caves to come and marvel at the rushing waters.

We made good use of our indoor weekend though. I began gestating Elijah.  So much fun to knit and stuff an elephant’s head in an afternoon!

elijah's head

And we made use of our bumper plum crop (amazing in spite of the drought!) and made Chilli Plum sauce, enough for another year.

Chilli Plum Sauce

A very satisfying, and damp, weekend.
Bells

19 thoughts on “February Flooding

  1. wow that is a lot of rain!!!!!!!!!!!!!! we had a lot here and I was out the back today and even after a day of sunshine the pavers and ground is still damp! I ‘m just glad to get some washing going on!

    but secretly every knitter and craftsperson doesn’t mind a bit of rain or bad weather which keeps you indoors!!!!

    Corrie:)

  2. I’ve made the plum sauce, but now the blood plums are coming on and the greengages and in a week or so the prune plums will be drying – and today I got my first bix box of sauce tomatoes….I know what I will be doing tomorrow….

  3. Wow, that’s a lot of raindrops. Reminds me of our monsoon Spring of 2009. I can’t wait to see the finished elephant; it’s going to be totally adorable.

  4. It’s great to have so much rain. It’s been a really hot summer here & not a drop of rain. My garden is all dried & burnt – it’s so depressing to look at it.

  5. Sounds like you and the land got some much needed rain. Am now hoping for a bumper crop of plums, can’t get excited about plum jam but chilli plum sauce sounds fabulous.

  6. I had to stop myself writing it never rains but it pours … we’ve had some rain here too and I’m so glad the drainage was fixed because the fokes down the street would be under water. It’s so nice though … I am so not complaining. I wish it would rain every night. I’d be happy to go to sleep with the sound of rain on the roof every night.

  7. Took me a second to figure out what I was looking at when I saw Elijah’s head/trunk! My juvenile sense of humor was wondering if you were developing a new line of knitting patterns that might be x-rated. 😉 Stay dry!

  8. I think we’re all experiencing a bit of extreme weather. Your rain, our snow. I do hope you cycle out of the drought soon, though. We’ve been in one for the better part of a decade and have just started to come out of it in the last 2 or three years. But your plums are amazing! A miracle anytime, but especially during a drought. 🙂

  9. the rain is wonderful after such dry weather, and your weekend sounds very cosy and relaxed. not to mention very productive with all that lovely knitting, roasting and preserving.

  10. Wow! It will be interesting to see if you get new plants sprouting (yes possibly some weeds, too) and to see the bird and animal activity.

    I’ve got to admit I think we had the same rain, a lot of the roads were flooded, but that’s kinda usual here (and I wish they’d capture the storm water but I know it’s expensive to replace all the old pipes).

    I do envy you your plums, please show us a picture when you decide to use the sauce!

  11. I remember when it rained like this one time when I was growing up, and we were all the same, marvelling at the water where previously there was none. And it was a little bit like that on Friday night here too, although not for long!

    Nice work on the plum sauce, although I was hoping there might be a spare jar of homemade plum jam…heh!

  12. It has been most satisfyingly damp here too, the extremes of drought and flood in this country never cease to amaze me. I am glad you got some wet stuff down there though. Sooooo looking forward to seeing the finished Elijah!

Leave a Reply

