Connectivity

I was forced to live without the Internet on my holiday. And without the phone. No text messages. Nothing. It wasn’t planned. We just didn’t know that Vodafone coverage in regional Victoria was so bad. As in, non-existently bad.

I survived. Enforced dis-connectivity is, it turns out, quite good for you. I suspected that. I read a whole book. I knitted most of my Featherweight cardigan. I switched off from life and my concerns. Well, a little. I’d have to be comatose to achieve that totally. But the net effect was a bit of isolation, with Sean, and a sense that life was going on elsewhere.

I missed family and friends. I missed playing with Baby Alice. I missed the comfort that comes from a text or an email that says hey, I’m thinking of you. A couple of times we went for a drive and got a window of coverage and it was great to just feel connected even for a moment. I decided to feel ok about that need. It’s just who I am. I’d be in a right state if we’d gone away for longer than a week!

How good it is to be plugged in properly again. We’re not home yet but we’re in range and it’s sublime. I’ve made contact. Caught up on news. Slipped seamlessly back into emails and blogs and all the rest of it, all from the comfort of our hotel room.

I compulsivley tweeted what our dinner plans are because I could. Pizza, if you want to know. Fine dining, of which we have done a lot, is all well and good but the idea of making ourselves presentable for human interaction is not so appealing. But pizza and beer on a motel room couch most certainly is!

Tomorrow we’ll visit a couple of favourite wineries in the rutherglen region, an area we’ve not been to for some years. It’s strange to be back here. A few ghosts and strange memories reside here. But we’ll buy wine in the morning and enjoy the rest of the drive home. And maybe I’ll get the seemingly endless knitting of the Featherweight cardigan done.

Grey knitting and grey skies means I’m pretty keen to knit something colourful soon. More photos and holiday stories later.

18 thoughts on “Connectivity

  1. We had a couple of those enforced lost internet (or electricity) breaks in the last year. Turns out real life is still there!

    The thing I missed the most was being able to look up what interested ME on the news, rather than only getting to hear what came over the radio. And when the weather was iffy, boy did I miss online weather radar & weather predictions.

  2. I go out of my mind when I don’t have internet. I look everything up on it; I check emails 100 times a day (it beats cleaning!) and find phone numbers, new things to knit and read all day long. I don’t know how I’d survive without! Enjoy the rest of your trip – can’t wait to hear about it!

  3. I don’t think I can live without the internet. I wonder how we live 10/20 years ago without all the technology. Have a great holiday.

  4. I had less-than-usual connectivity in the Faroes (where, yes, I learnt about knitting – I will hopefully be getting some patterns soon so watch this space!) but Greenland will be so much worse, because they still charge by the MB…….

    I hope you enjoyed your break, and I’m glad you got some quality knitting time in ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. I like it when we go camping and leave the electronics behind. Not too long ago, we were going out to dinner and realized we had both left our cell phones at home. After a moment of panic, I remembered that it wasn’t all that long ago that we didn’t have cell phones and we went out perfectly well without them.

    Sounds like a restful vacation you’re having.

  6. At first it is hard to be away from the computer and phone but then calmness and peace kicks in!! Glad you are having a great holiday. I love your knitting as the car drives along shot!!!

  7. sounds like a good break. i’ve considered forcing myself to have internet-free days every week, but can’t seem to break the habit of checking for emails, or blogs or ravelry whenever i have a spare moment. looking forward to hearing more about the holiday / knitting.

  8. It’s a relief, sometimes, to be away from the computer and out of range. But something always pulls me back… Glad you’re enjoying your holiday!!

  9. Missed you – glad you’re back “online”.

    I understand the ‘frustration’. When I go to my mother’s I am out of mobile phone range (I’m with Vodaphone too) but at least she has a computer connected to the internet and a landline phone! I really miss blogs when I go away and am glad to catch up.

  10. Now I know how you feel when I go away on long holidays. Knowing I can text at anytime is good – knowing you’re out of range and not-so-contactable – BAD!

    Glad you’re almost back.

    Delly

  11. We were without internet for a whole week when we made the switch from cable to DSL. The entire household was watching me closely for signs of delirium. I made it, but only just. If it makes you feel any better, I checked your blog compulsively on the off chance you’d get an opportunity to report in. Perhaps you should start planning your holidays to include at least one visit to an internet “hot spot” daily. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Welcome back. As someone who gets anxious when disconnected, your vacation sounds like something I sorely need. We all need to get away sometimes. I can’t remember what it was like to be away from phone, internet, text – and yet, it wasn’t that long ago that I didn’t have those things. I’m working on re-establishing some of that distance. I miss reading, and I miss the sense of relaxation one gets when you can really get away from it all.

  13. It has been weird without you and I wondered how you were both coping. It is good to be cut off for a while but I’ll be glad to have you back, you and your featherweight!

  14. I sympathise completely on phone and internet access front. When we were away, it was so nice to not spend evenings in front of the computer, but was still strange (perhaps worrying) not being able to get in contact with friends and family at will.

    Look forward to hearing about your break!

  15. Heh, it’s been a bit weird not hearing from you for so long!! But good I think in a lot of ways to have an internet break, I need to try to do that more often!! I’d get a lot more reading and knitting done that way too I think!

    Your plans for tomorrow sound good! And will be good to have you at home…and online more!! Tee hee!

Leave a Reply

