Yarn bomb!

This morning, our first morning back home from holidays, Sean woke early to take the rubbish bins out for collection and returned saying it looked like someone had hung some crochet on a light pole outside. I wasn’t quite awake so it didn’t sink in but later, I headed out to see what he was talking about and sure enough, the pole outside our house has been tagged! Or yarn bombed!

graffiti

Even though generally I’m not so fond of the notion of knitting graffiti, I do feel secretly a bit pleased to think that either by accident or design, there’s some yarn decorating if not my house, then at least something on the street. Right on the nature strip in fact.

grafitti2

I was visited by my younger siblings, Keith and Fee, this morning and had to show it to them. They were flabbergasted, having never heard of such a thing. Not being so up on how it all works, they were convinced it had to be someone who knows I live here. I’m not so sure. I think it’s just a happy coincidence. We checked out how it was hung up there – it had to be sewn on. Otherwise you’d need a ladder to slip it over the top of the pole. It’s attached pretty securely.

What is a bit funny is that while we were away, Web-Goddess stayed in our house while visiting Canberra and if you know her, you know she’s kinda got a thing about knitting graffiti and even wrote an Anti-Knitting Graffiti Manifesto. I like her take on it. While I’d probably never engage in this kind of public art myself, I am, as I said, chuffed to have some knitting graffiti so close by. I hope it stays there a long time because it’ll make me smile and that, I suppose, is the purpose of knitting graffiti.

I don’t believe it was widely known she was staying here but it’s funny to imagine it might have been an act of provocative yarn bombing.

Whoever did it, thanks. We love it. I like the way it blends in with the not-yet-autumnal tree beside it, like knitting imitating nature. In a few weeks when the leaves turn red, the flecks of colour in it will help it blend in still.

Bells

28 thoughts on “Yarn bomb!

  1. That is very cool! While I probably won’t do much myself, I do like the public art aspect of knitting graffiti and it’s ability to make people stop, think, smile, react πŸ™‚

  2. that’s neat! i’ve seen it online, and i probably wouldn’t do it myself, but i’ve never seen yarn grafitti in public and i’d be really happy to.

  3. Bells, I just have to share this with you. I got a message from a local man who is visually impaired and does a lot of work with the disabled and rights. He asked me if our knit graffiti can be touched and is reachable. I said yes! yes! yes!

  4. I like to see hand knitting anywhere and everywhere so I like knit graffitti though I can’t ever imagine having the desire to spend my precious knitting time working on a piece. I’ll stick to spreading the wearable hand knits around I think.

  5. You know…I just realized that first picture makes me think of a cactus flowering — another instance of something beautiful showing up where you’d least expect it. I kind of like the idea of yarn bombing. I don’t know that it’s something I’d do myself, but I can still enjoy it. And it certainly does spark conversation, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚

  6. I actually wrote a response to that manifesto πŸ™‚ on my jafabrit blog a while ago. I have heard all these arguments before, waste of time, yarn should be used for such and such, waste of money etc etc.

    What always astonishes me is how others determine how I should spend my time, my money, my creative energies, what I should do or donate.

    How is it possible to make such conclusions about someone based on a little bit knit graffiti, it is only a minor part of my life as an artist. My friends and I do it because it is fun, the children love it, tourists love it, and it has become a beloved part of life in our community in yellow springs ohio.

    thanks for letting me share
    Corrine

    If you have any questions I will be more than glad to answer
    and no, it doesn’t get smelly and horrible, honest, they can last a year and then we cut down.

  7. How funny. I also think there are better things to spend time and effort and fiber on. But I see the flip side, like Alwen said, there are certainly worse things to do. And it made you laugh, which, now I think on it, might actually be an excellent use of resources. Hm.

  8. This just tickles me no end! Why bother? For the same reason I knit six fingered gloves and peter heaters. It’s not that hard, and it gives a great deal of amusement.

    And it’s a kind of “tagging” It’s like writing “Kilroy was here” in unlikely places, or painting your name on boxcars that will go all over the US. It’s that uniquely human “Yawp” that says, “I exist!” to the world at large. Imagine the smile on that knitter’s face every time he/she sees that yarn bomb. Imagine the pleasure of being in the area when someone discovers it, discusses it, studies and comments on it. Heck, I think I’m talking myself into some yarn bombing myself.

  9. oh I love a bit of yarn bombing cause it simply makes me smile. and to have it outside your house in the burbs – even more smiley!

  10. OOh, I love RR’s idea! But other than that, I’d be sooooo blown away if my street ever got tagged. I don’t think it’s a common thing here.

  11. I’m with Missfee, why?? I don’t understand it either. I would prefer to use my time to make something for myself or someone special. I noticed someone had done the same to a tree in the park I take the kids to the other day, with a horribly bright yellow yarn. The kids were interested but I just think it is a waste of time.

  12. so funny that it happened outside your house! i agree with you – it would make me smile too. when it falls off you could mark your territory and make a really beautiful piece to replace it!

  13. It is really ugly and I ask why?

    Why waste your crafting energy on something like that when you could be making a scarf for yourself or someone else – a wearable useful garment. Or expanding your understanding and knowledge of the craft.

    • I hope you don’t mind if I share, but I can tell you why. Our town LOVES it, the locals love it, kids hug our poles, they laugh at them, it makes people happy and that is never a waste of time. It has also become a useful part of making our town a happy fun place to visit.

      • I will become the Knitting Fairy in my town and cant wait for the reaction from people.

        I think this is FUN innocent carefree happy smiley and tickeley pink. It brings a warm and fuzzy feeling!!!!!!!!!!!!
        YARN BOMB AWAYYYYYYYY! If someone did my house I’d be so excited because I was chosen to spread joy and happiness

  14. It’s so when the Knitting Fairy comes to bestow yarn upon her adherents, she knows where to stop. Kind of like a knitter’s Passover, except in reverse.

  15. Hysterical. I hope it’s like Doc Martin & the cloutie for you – make a wish and when it finally falls off the post, you’ll get your wish.

  16. i do like the fact that its happened now, and outside your house. i dont quite buy the whole ‘but its subversive’ argument, but i would be chuffed if my house was tagged too. its kind of like ‘watch out, a knitter lives here’! and a nice coming home present, too.

  17. heh, it is just too funny, whether it’s there by intention or coincidence!! I’m with you (and WebGoddess) on the whole knitting graffiti thing, but it does make me think that perhaps it could be used as a (not-so-secret) sign of a knitter’s or crocheter’s house – perhaps we all should decorate a light pole or a tree or a mailbox out the front of our homes with some well-placed yarn art!

  18. There are a lot worse things people could be spending time and energy on. (Okay, okay, and probably better things – but not all of us are cut out to be Mother Theresa.)

Leave a Reply

