Chevron Lace Cardigan – finally

This is a cardigan I have effectively made twice in the last month! You might remember the post recently where I apologised publicly to my sister, Fee, for dragging out the completion of her cardigan. It was just such a sad state of affairs. I’d finished it, in quite good time, only to discover I’d butchered the arms. It just didn’t fit. The arms were way lower than they should have been and it was all just too, too awful.

So I ripped it and started it again. About ten days later, I’ve got a finished, and well fitting cardigan and one happy little sister.

The pattern is the Chevron Lace Cardigan and it’s free.

Fee loved posing for photos. I told her to channel knitwear models. If you could see the moments between photos you’d see a lot of laughter. Alice was off to the side playing with her Uncle Keith.

Chevron Lace Cardigan

I’ve made this cardigan before this version. The first time was for me. Here’s a tip, make good notes for yourself if you think you’ll ever make something a second time. I kind of struggled when it came time to make this again. I knew I’d done stuff to modify it the first time, but my notes were sketchy.

However, all’s well that ends well. Fee has a new cardigan she thinks will be great for spring. She asked for the sleeves to be kept short so she could wear it over long or short sleeved tops in spring.

Chevron Lace Cardigan
And here’s a useful tip. Because I knew from experience that the yarn, Bendigo Luxury 8ply, would grow tremendously, I had a few tricks up my sleeve. When I made it the first time, I washed it before making the band, it grew by 4inches (so I had made it deliberately short), then I made the band.

When it came time to make this again, I had to make it to the full length because luxury won’t grow twice. That’s good to know really. Once it grow, that’s it. It won’t grow again. That’s it.

I made this on a smaller hook than specified – a 5mm hook – I found on a larger hook the gauge was just too loose and floppy. And I made the band on a 4.5mm hook. Also, I ignored the instructions for the band in the pattern, having screwed it up once. I simple did a round of Single Crochet all the way around, then two rounds of half trebles (or half double crochet) and it was all good.

Chevron Lace Cardigan

Even though this dragged on a bit in the second round, I do love making this cardigan and can see making at least another one for myself, and maybe for others. It is fast – I mean the second go took ten days – and you can’t beat that for value. It’s an easy pattern – once you get past the arm holes it’s the crochet equivalent of stocking stitch. Back and forth, back and forth in an easy treble pattern.

You can’t go wrong.

Bells

17 thoughts on “Chevron Lace Cardigan – finally

  1. Pingback: So about that testing knitting…. « Bellsknits

  2. It looks fantastic Bells, well worth the redo!

    Cheers for the tip about Luxury only growing once. I’m currently having some trouble with Luxury dropping so it’s a relief to hear it only happens once.

  3. Gorgeous & looks great on your sister. Now I know Luxury grows when wash as I made a cardigan with Luxury & it was too tight although I steam block it. I am off to wash it now.

  4. I’m fortunate not to have had to completely re-do anything yet, probably because I haven’t made nearly as much as you — and because everything has been for me, so I’ve been able to try things on obsessively as I make them! So I can only imagine how painful it must be. But the end product is fabulous ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Fee should consider offering her services to ACS perhaps, she looks great! I am so so glad you stuck to your guns and got this finished, a great effort with many lessons learned along the way.

  6. Argh – I only have the last photo showing, but it looks great! Very flattering. Will have to come back and see if the others are visible later, or see if maybe you’ve posted on ravelry! It’s very cute!

  7. This is amazing! I love it so much. I think it is my favourite out of everything I have seen you make before and it fits her so perfectly. I did see a little bit of your mum in one of those photos ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

