New Blue Cardigan

I’m rather embarrassed at how long this little cardigan took. Cast on while at Bendigo in July, it was 80% done by early August. I gave myself a good talking to about reasons to stay focused in mid August and decided earlier this week that it had to be done by the end of August. I had one sleeve to go. Honestly, it took me one evening, a coffee date and a bus ride. Shameful.

Garter Yoke Cardigan

And now, here it is. I love the buttons. I found them at the Bendigo Sheep and Wool show and knew they’d be for this cardigan.

Happy girl. I can see one of the ways I could improve this is to put the button holes closer together. They gape. But I don’t think she cares.

I left the bottom part open because the weather is warming up and I think it’s more suited to warmer weather to keep it that way. And it shows off her podge so sweetly.

Garter Yoke Cardigan

I just love this pattern. It’s such a wearable little piece and, under normal circumstances, so fast. The first one I made was lightning fast. Next year I’ll modify it to make a bigger one.

Check out the back view. Looks great with a pair of jeans doesn’t it?

Garter Yoke Cardigan

It was so hard to get photos of her looking up. In this next one, after a dozen or so taken with her looking at rocks on the ground (so much more interesting!) her mum called out to her and I got the shot I was after.

Garter Yoke Cardigan

So here are the details:

Pattern: Garter Yoke Baby Cardigan.
Yarn: Bendigo Woollen Mills Melody (8ply) in Light Blue. I love this stuff. I haven’t used it before. It took just on 3 balls for this one and at $4 a ball that was great value!
Modifications: I am not happy with how the band turned out. Instead of knitting on a garter stitch band as the pattern suggests, I tried knitting a rib band as I went. I think it’s lumpy and misshapen but decided for a cardigan that’s going to be worn for maybe 2 months, I could live with it. But I wouldn’t do it again.

So I’m off to Darwin tomorrow. Bright and early on a Sunday morning. I’d like to try to blog from there, but it’ll depend on a few things. Otherwise, see you when I get back from my adventure!

Bells

18 thoughts on “New Blue Cardigan

  1. Love the cardi and, of course, seeing Alice! I got to spend some time with my nieces and my *gulp* great-niece while on vacation and it was so much fun!

  2. Beautiful cardi Bells, the colour suits her very well.

    Sometimes little projects take a deceptive amount of time. I’m working on a hat that’s taken over a month and three different patterns…

  3. Aw, she is growing so much! She’ll be 11 before you know it!

    (And I am old, because “You’ve grown so much!” is what my aunts always used to say to me.)

  4. Ooh light blue suits Miss Alice. Love the little cardigan, so sweet and I love knitting with the Melody yarn too. You could always do an icord band with little loops instead next time!

  5. Glad you found the buttons, they are a great match! Agree with you on the buttonband and buttonholes, but as you say, for a garment that will only get a couple of months wear, it’s totally functional. And such a great colour for Alice.

Leave a Reply

