Finding the Flowers

When I was little my dad used to recite a poem.

Spring is here
The grass is riz
I wonder where the flowers is.

It used to make me giggle because the budding grammar pedant in me knew that was wrong but funny all the same. Well, today I found the flowers. They’ve been out for a while but I haven’t spent much time with them. There’s a storm brewing, hence the dull shadow over the photos, but I kind of liked being out in the gloomy weather for a while. Come on a tour with me?

First up, a stray Bok Choy plant from when they went to seed last year in a bed and the seeds were flung out around the yard. They have been showing up in the lawn for a while and I never pick them because I love seeing them growing wild. This one had a little ladybird visiting.

bokchoy

Next up the Apricot tree that never produces although Sean and his dad did a fair bit of work on it recently so maybe all these delicious blossoms might actually amount to something. It’s great having a former orchardist in the family!

apricot

Our plum tree is far more prolific, although we narrowly manage to get the full crop before the birds take over. Must see into one of those tree nets this year.

plum

Next, the miraculous Rosemary. I call her miraculous because I routinely kill Rosemary and this one’s lasted nearly three years. It’s a record. I adore the pretty flowers.

rosemary

And here, my beloved Grape Hyacinths, or Muscari. I’ve grown these for years and I just love how each year the patch thickens and multiplies. Talk about set and forget! I love them so much.

muscari

The Grape Hyacinths grow in a ring under an Ash tree. One half the ring is taken up by them, the other half, by Star Flowers. I should have taken a photo of the ring because it’s really looking so lovely. Sean built the ring for me and suggested bulbs. He was so right.

star flowers

I’ll finish with the Snowdrops. Here’s just one of them. So irresistibly delicate and perfect.

snowdrop

Lest you think this means we have a stunning garden, be assured we don’t. The rest of the yard is a wasteland of dilapidated beds ready for when we plunder them for soil for new, soon to be built beds and new growth. There’s a lot to do but at least we have the bulbs to remind us that the results of hard work are worth it.

Bells

16 thoughts on “Finding the Flowers

  1. Those are beautiful! I particularly like the star flower, I don’t think I’ve seen that one.

    Years ago the farmer across the road planted canola (rapeseed), and that field in bloom was just a sea of lovely yellow like the bok choy.

  2. We planted 200 daffodil bulbs last weekend here in the Pacific Northwest. Thank you for the sneak peak of things to come! We had a profusion of Snow Bells under an apple tree at our old house that I loved; I enjoyed the reminder that I need to plant some of those too. Thank You Bells!

  3. Ah the delights of having friends downunder: I get to enjoy my favorite season twice a year! When my grape hyacinths bloom, I put a little bouquet on the mantlepiece so I can get drunk on the aroma every time I pass.

  4. I remember that poem (with the birdies in it) from the Three Stooges as a kid. My dad was too proper to use bad grammar even for fun.

    I love spring bulbs. They’re the most hopeful of flowers. They wait there in the cold and just need a bit of encouragement to burst up and show off. Grape hyacinths are one of my favorites, too. I love seeing their little purple selves popping up.

  5. I thought I’d throw our version into the mix

    spring is sprung, the grass is riz, i wonder where the … is (having now seen both, i can’t remember now whether its birds or flowers. gaaaa, but i think flowers)
    then it goes on

    some people say the bird is on the wing
    but that’s absurd
    cos everyone knows the wing is on the bird.

    • Our version was similar to Jen’s.

      Spring is sprung, the grass iz riz
      I wonders where the birdie iz.
      The little bird iz on da wing.
      The bird is on da wing? Don’t be absurd.
      Da bird ain’t on de wing, de wing iz on da bird.

      Gorgeous flower piccies by the way!

  6. I’m with Gae – that’s the version I know too! Funny!

    I love fruit tree blossoms, so pretty, so amazing. There’s a row of them up at the shops and they look divine at the moment. I must remember to take a picture (if they haven’t all blown off by now). And grape hyacinths are great too, mum used to have a patch of those.

  7. Just stunning! I just can’t seem to grow bulbs, and this year I planted them a bit later than I should have but they are pushing through so I just hope I get to see some flowers! I passed all the cherry blossoms along the street today and smiled at the thought of spring and being able to enjoy the visual flower feast that we have here in canberra. I can’t believe your garden could be bad seeing those little beauties in it!

Leave a Reply

