Knitting and Weaving

When I wrote a couple of weeks ago about my trip out to Arnhem Land and my encounter with the Weavers in that remote region, I was disappointed not to have a photo of the moment when I was knitting while the woman I met was weaving.

I was able to get hold of a photo this week from one of our party and so am happy to be able to show you now what it looked like for a knitter and a weaver to sit together with their work.

weaving and knitting

I absolutely loved this moment. It was one of those experiences where as it was happening, I had a heightened sense of wanting to really grab hold of it and take in everything about it because there are some moments that are never to be repeated. When was I ever going to find myself again in an incredibly remote setting, in a world utterly unfamiliar to my own, sharing a craft I love with another woman who was sharing hers with me?

Not likely to be repeated any time soon.

Look at all those ends! Look at what her nimble fingers are able to manage, creating tiny stitches amounting to a basket strong enough to carry heavy items over some distance. Fabulous stuff.

I’m just so glad I had the courage to grab my bag and dig out the sock I’d been knitting on the plane. I almost didn’t, feeling too shy for a second but that’s where that ‘I may never do something like this again’ feeling kicked in and I grabbed the chance.

Back in the office, I’m not sure if this notion has been laughed at or admired but I don’t mind at all. I thought it was great.

* * *

On an unrelated note, my sister and I are holding a contest over on our food blog. We’re inviting readers to share their favourite cookbooks in the comments. Up for grabs are two prizes – cookbooks from our own collections that we’ve loved but are happy to pass on now to enthusiastic cooks. You have until Wednesday 22 September to enter and then we’ll do a random draw.

Bells

17 thoughts on “Knitting and Weaving

  1. Oh, I was so envious of your experience when you wrote of it earlier and now I can see it thanks to a companion of yours. Your knitting with the weaver probably made a deeper impression on those people to see that they share something with people from “outside.” If anyone where you work thinks less of you for it, they can bite my rusty dusty behind. I’d much rather sit in the shade with regular folks gabbing and laughing, than sit with the swells and try to remember which fork to use.

  2. That is a really fantastic image – what an opportunity. I’m glad you weren’t too shy to get your knitting out – and you’re completely right not to be bothered with what the office thinks. My guess is that many of them probably don’t do much of it anyway .. (thinking that is..)

  3. so great that you got a photo of this meeting of minds across cultures. you both look very comfortable and natural working away in each others company.

  4. I can’t imagine anyone in your office would think anything but what we here all seem to: you saw an awesome opportunity to connect and were brave enough to do it! I love the photo, and am so, so happy you did do it and shared it with us all. It really was a great story.

  5. I think this is fabulous. So glad someone else captured the moment for you (remember how we’ve mentioned “living” the moment vs. “documenting”?). And blessings to you for not letting shyness or embarrassment keep you from an experience that obviously struck such a deep chord. How often have we — all of us — acted against our own inclinations in our quest to fit in? And how many incredible moments like this never saw the light of day as a result? Well done. 🙂

  6. You were so right to pull out your sock. That was definitely a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

    Isn’t it weird that we connect with people all over the world, but hardly ever see some of the people in our own countries?

  7. There’s that recognition of the magic of taking just – stuff – and making practical, beautiful things with it. You are both, in your own way, praction creative magic.

    The mat you are sitting on is pretty cool, too.

    Thanks for sharing that with us.

  8. I think it’s interesting that you seem to be watching her hands more than your own. What a memorable moment. There is something magical when women (and men) sit down and make something with their hands. It connects us all.

Leave a Reply

