2010 – Looking Back

They’re popping up everywhere. The 2010 Knitting Retrospectives. I love them. Truly love them. We get to sit back and happily congratulate ourselves for those hours, weeks, months of working with stitches. It feels so good. We made stuff. So much stuff.

Here’s a glimpse at my stuff for 2010. I began with the Icarus shawl in early January. This remains my favourite knit for the year, and perhaps of all time. It’s perfect for me and a joy to wear. I wear it often.

Icarus wing span

And it looks like Sean’s handsome socks will be the last finished item for the year.

handsome socks3

I hoped I’d finish my Triinu Scarf in time but I think that’s not likely now.

In between there were cardigans (four of them, plus one crocheted cardigan – a record year for me!), scarves, socks, shawls, baby knits for Alice and for the first time toys.

Who can forget Elijah Stampy?

Elijah Stampy

I somehow think Alice might have since I haven’t seen him in a while, but he’ll show up again some time I’m sure.

There was even some crochet thrown in there with my sister’s Chevron Lace Cardigan.

Chevron Lace Cardigan

The amount of wear she gets out of that simple piece is very happy making for me.

Here, in one big mosaic is the lot. It makes me content to think of my year in terms of all the stitches that I made. What a great way to mark moments off in my mind.

2010 Retrospective

1. Icarus wing span, 2. pouch, 3. Cauchy Socks for Sean, 4. Springtime Bandit Shawl, 5. cranford mitts, 6. Mitered Hanging Towel, 7. Willem’s birthday socks, 8. Alice in the Helena Cardigan, 9. Elijah Stampy, 10. Roses on top of the cosy, 11. Alice checks the toes, 12. golden vintage2, 13. featherweight1, 14. Mum, Alice and Shawl, 15. Jenny, Alice and Scarf, 16. garteryoke1, 17. coraline front, 18. Sean’s Socks – toes, 19. brangian2, 20. Yoked Cardigan, 21. Cranford Mitts in Rowan Felted Tweed, 22. Chevron Lace Cardigan, 23. Garter Yoke Cardigan, 24. Election Socks, 25. pretty thing cowl, 26. Shiraz Cardigan, 27. sweet pea socks 2, 28. Riding on the Metro Socks, 29. handsome socks3

And what does 2011 hold? Well so far I’ve managed to line up stash with various projects, including the great Sock Club mentioned some weeks back. I can’t help but wonder if the fun of making all the resolutions for what we plan to knit in the coming year is that we know damn well we’ll fall off the wagon at some point.

Never mind. The fun is in the planning, but ultimately in the doing. Bring it on.

Bells

18 thoughts on “2010 – Looking Back

  1. As always, beautiful work : ) Lovely to see your stuff on show all-of-a-piece, as it were. My knitting intentions are reduced to one piece – an aran shrug for my sister’s birthday, now 6 months overdue!

    Happy Knitting in 2011

  2. So cool to look back over a year and see how productive you’ve been, not to mention how Alice has grown. Here’s to an exciting time knitting, crocheting, sewing and quilting (heh!) in 2011!

  3. oh wow bells, that is one impressive mosaic! sadly no crafty mosaic for me but I can live through more productive people like you!

    can’t wait to see what you get up to in 2011 and I get to meet you at the bloggers conference too:)

    Corrie:)

  4. A great year of knitting Bells, such a good mix of projects and colours.

    Completely agree that falling off the wagon is half the fun. Tis nice to use up stash, but it’s recreation afterall! The fun of knitting would evaporate if it was all about the dogged pursuit of stash reduction.

  5. My goal for the year is to keep all my knitting photos in one separate folder so I can find them more easily! I tend to delete them after I’ve posted them and then at the end of the year I don’t have them available. Not terribly bright.

    Your portfolio is brilliant. What a gorgeous body of work. And Roxie is right, the sewing is missing. You made great strides in that area as well.

    Here’s to a creativly joyful new year.

  6. That is such a lovely collection of personal knits and gifts for those you love. I also love these collections, a beautiful summary of the year. Best wishes for another knitting filled year with lots of successes.

  7. What a great year of knitting. I’ve got to figure out how to do one of those mosaics!

    You and I have a quite an overlap in colors. I, too, love the rich jewel tones like magenta and teal. Beautiful body of work!

  8. Wow – a very productive year! It was fun to look back and remember the posts and stories that went along with each. Hope you had a nice Christmas and that your 2011 is even more full of knitting and other good things!

  9. What a beautiful portfolio of a years work 🙂 so many beautiful things; I can’t wait to see what you work in in 2011! Like you, though, the fun for me is definitely in the planning, and I’ll look forward to watching all of yours evolve. Happy New Year, Bells xx

Leave a Reply

