A Day at the Beach

Late last night I had a mishap with my Shetland Tea Shawl. A serious mishap. I’ll write about it separately. Today, I found a good way to wash those lace blues away was to go to the beach with a nearly two-year old, get a lot of sun, eat a lot of chips and oysters and ice cream (not all at the same time!) and come home sandy and sleepy.

Lace troubles? What lace troubles?

Alice is, unusually, sleeping over for two nights. Last night Sean picked her up after work so we could leave nice and early this morning. The first stop was a coffee shop in Mogo with a giant chess set. Huge fun. Literally.

chess

We did a spot of shopping and Uncle Sean chose a new hat for Alice. Doesn’t she look fetching in it? It’s got crochet flowers on it. I thought that was most fitting and applauded Sean for his choice.

new hat

This was shortly followed by lunch at the pretty little town of Malua Bay where, unlike last time we had a day at the coast, I was able to buy oysters from a man with a refrigerated truck near the beach. They were sublime and I didn’t have to share them because Sean is allergic and I think two year olds are more interested in chips.

eating lunch

Then, onto the main event. The swimming. A quick dip in the shallow part of the surf at our lunch venue revealed Alice is not keen on even little waves, at least not until she’s reacquainted herself with the water. We left there quickly and went to a now familiar spot near Broulee, Candlagan Creek (thanks for the recommendation Drk!) where the water is shallow, still and warm. It’s a hit.

fun

I was most thrilled today to see that Alice learned a new trick. Floating. She figured it out all by herself, perched on her elbows in the shallow water, her legs floating freely behind her. She and I sat like that for what seemed like hours this afternoon, just chatting quietly and saying ‘hi!’ to other kids who splashed past us while we, not needing the splashing, simply kept cool while Sean was nearby exploring slightly deeper water. I had to get the floating on camera so her parents could see just how much she’s learned this summer, between beach visits and her paddling pool at home. Clever girl. This age of discovery is pretty much the coolest thing in the world. Much cooler than lace that’s causing difficulty and is best forgotten.

floating

It really doesn’t get better than this. Whichever one of us it was who had the idea to grab Alice for the day and escape down the coast was a genius (just quietly I think it was me). We’ve learned heaps both times we’ve been (we shall not discuss the poo incident from the last trip!) and have both come home tired and happy from a day that is unlike the kind we would have if we had just gone by ourselves. Little kids show you a different world. They show you the shallow, quiet end of the beach where little fish flicker past your feet. They show you the joy of sand castles and the simple pleasure in floating.

I know that in our happy days down the coast, we’re giving Alice fundamental, joyful moments that go into her memories. But she gives us just as much even if, at the end of the day, we’re sunburned and exhausted. You can’t put a price on that.

with sean

bells

24 thoughts on “A Day at the Beach

  1. Pingback: Of a Tea Shawl and a Quilt « Bellsknits

  2. sorry to hear about the shawl – hope it’s not too trying to sort out. what a lovely day out with alice – she looks so happy. my little girls don’t like waves either so if the sea is too rough it’s time for sandcastles. it is nice that slowing down and playing, isn’t it?

  3. You had me at the title. I was imagining the sun and the sand and the lovely feel of cool water on your hot skin. I like taking my niece and nephew to the beach. I always forget how much fun it is to play in water with a child.

    What a lovely day.

  4. I love watching you build a relationship with Alice. They change so, day by day, week by week. Keep up the good work Aunt Bells. The words and photography are great as well. Please share about the poo incident! We all need some fun in our lives.

  5. She’ll be your go-to person when she’s being an unreasonable teenager and needs to run away from home and calm down. You’ll get to see the best of her, her entire life. Lucky you πŸ˜‰

  6. Nice hat choice Uncle Sean! It matches her spotty top nicely.

    Looks like you all had a lovely relaxing day yesterday. Much better than doing battle with lace issues.

  7. Alice has another lovely hat! How beautiful!

    A day at the beach. Just what our winter-weary hearts could use. Thankyou! I warms me to the marrow of the bone.

  8. What a lovely day! Looks like the perfect cure for any sort of knitting woes. That Alice is just too cute for words!

  9. Nyah, nyah, I know about the poo incident!!

    Toddlers are the BEST. The rate at which they learn, the ways they have of seeing and making connections–nobody is smarter than a toddler. Blows my mind, and it doesn’t get old. I’m on my third toddler, and I still love it and still feel so lucky to get to witness it.

  10. What a great day! Alice is lucky to have such a wonderful aunt and uncle! Sorry to hear about the shawl, hope it’s reparable, whatever it is. And yes, I’m with RoseRed! What poo?

  11. Priceless πŸ™‚ glad that you were able to excels and enjoy the heat with Alice. How cute is that new hat, it even matches her top. Well done Uncle Sean

  12. It was a splendid idea and Alice’s hat is gorgeous!! She is such a clever girl to discover floating all by herself. I think children bring a wonderful perspective to everything: seeing life as a wonderful new and surprising adventure. I miss being with children every day at school. Thank you for not sharing The Great Pooh Incident of The Last Trip!!
    Oh no, a lace incident as well??

  13. awww, looks like a great day. I’m with Alice, I like the water when it’s dead flat too! None of those pesky waves for me! Sitting in the shallow water floating your legs sounds like a lovely way to pass the afternoon.

    (and really, since you brought it up, you really must tell us about the poo incident!)

  14. Good luck with your Shetland shawl, however your right I think putting it down and taking a day out makes for a good way to recover from shawl woes ;D

    Alice looks mighty cute and a cute age πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

