Dashing by the Old Well

A while ago, as winter settled in, I hit upon an idea. I knew that Sean had a fair walk from the car to his office in the morning, and that he used that time to catch up on new on his iPhone. I pictured him walking along with bare hands through the fog, crunching over frost and I thought it was time I made him some fingerless mittens.

And so I did. Here they are.

Dashing mitts

These aren’t just any old mitts though. I knew when I wanted to make them that I wouldn’t be satisfied with just pulling something ‘male appropriate’ from the stash. That would have been SO dull. I needed something to inspire me to get to work and so asked talented Sydney spinner, 1FunkyKnitWit, also known as Margarita, to come up with something wonderful. We chatted back and forth about requirements and off she went. When she sent me this photo, I knew we were onto something. It was as if she’d read my mind.

Before I knew it, the yarn had arrived and I was off. I haven’t knit much with handspun. I’m not sure I have at all. I’ve been wary of it. I haven’t always been drawn to what I’ve seen but this naturally coloured, evenly spun Corriedale merino felt so earthy and rich in my hands that I am now a convert.

Dashing mitts

And Sean loves them.

This pattern is so odd though. It’s a very popular pattern, the brother pattern of the ubiquitous Fetching mittens. I almost didn’t consider them because they’re just so much a part of the knitting landscape now that I wanted to do something new. But they work and are popular for a reason. A good, solid pattern with a strong, simple cable – but oh wow so much length. I shortened these between the last cable and the thumb because Sean tried them on and they were half way up his arm. I think if I were to do them again I’d shorten them considerably. Who needs that much length in a fingerless mitten?

Dashing mitts

I also added a thumb gusset to these because I like the look and feel of a gusset, instead of just a hole created for the thumb as the pattern states. It was simple enough – my notes on my Ravelry page detail that if you’re interested.

Dashing mitts

What amazed me about this yarn is that although it was certainly a little rougher to knit with, the fabric it made was stunningly even and once washed, felt sturdy and yet soft. Not baby soft, obviously, but wearably soft. And I imagine that over time that will only increase.

So thank you, Margarita. Your stuff is wonderful. I’ll be back for more!

A note also on the photos, as in the last post where I posed against the rolling hills of Majors Creek, Sean posed by the old well in the middle of the village. It’s abandoned now but still adds to the charm of the town. Those who said they were curious about Majors Creek, come back in a few days when I’ll show you more.

Bells

23 thoughts on “Dashing by the Old Well

  1. Pingback: Local History: Majors Creek | Bellsknits

  2. Oh my – you did such a wonderful job with these ! I too think think the thumb gusset is perfect, a great mod. I love how the colour variation in the yarn works beautifully with the pattern. They really do look very manly indeed πŸ˜€ …mostly I’m pleased that Sean is happy with his new mitts.
    I can’t tell you how much fun it was to collaborate to do this spin for you. Thank you for thinking of me and asking me to do it – it was a real pleasure and I’m very flattered by it ! πŸ™‚ xx

  3. The mitts look great – the pattern is the ideal mix of plainness and distinctiveness. I’m also just knitting up some of Margarita’s yarn and enjoying it. It’s a great privilege to be able to work with something that’s both unique and tasteful.

  4. Those look great! I like them long, too. For some jackets I have to put the wrist warmers on *before* the jacket, because there’s no getting them up those sleeves afterwards!

  5. I love these! Beautiful yarn, pattern and knititng.

    But I find I really love my long fingerless mitts -makes so much difference when it’s really cold, stops breezes up my coat sleeves etc. Maybe it’s a difference in how cold it is?

    Emily, in Nottingham, UK

    • it’s certainly cold enough here for them – mornings are often very frosty and below zero. I think it’s more the case that they don’t fit so well with his business shirt sleeves. Me, I’d love some length!

  6. I love knitting with handspun. There’s a texture that you don’t often get with mill spun yarns. Emily made Pk a pair of hand warmers for working outside in the winter out of handspun yarn and he loves them (even though he swore he didn’t need them). I made the matching scarf and it’s warm and soft and interesting to look at even though it’s only the yarn harlot’s 2 row scarf.

  7. I like a thumb gusset too. I modify mitts to have one as well! Chris wouldn’t wear these, I absolutely know it. There’s so little I can make for that man.

  8. Very nice indeed. I agree about the thumb gussett, gives a much nicer finish!

    My MIL has just returned to Sydney from Canberra; she had to drive through snow on the southern highlands.

  9. What a wonderful conjunction of two talents, and I agree, I love a proper thumb, not just a ‘hole’!! They are very stylish and I am so glad they are soft and warm to wear: Lucky Sean!!

  10. I have made them before, and they are a great mitt. But the handspun takes it to a whole new level – fabulous! And I love the co-ed photo shoot, too!

  11. I have made these (as you know – but yet to be blogged, heh!). I like the longer length of them because I wear a lot of 3/4 sleeve things in winter. Although most men don’t, so I can totally get why you shortened them. Thumb gusset also a good idea for bigger man hands too!
    And the yarn is just lovely!

    • One small problem with them, I should have added, is that Sean’s winter jacket has very fitted cuffs so these are a really snug, probably too snug, fit but they’ll go under his weekend jacket a bit better.

Leave a Reply

