Of Crochet and Curls

Today is a lovely, quiet day. Restful and slow. I need it after a weekend that began with the arrival of my parents and Alice on Friday night. It was all great but fitting in all the attendant activities that go with having visitors, some down time is always necessary!

I’m working on my third Chevron Lace cardigan in a delicious red.

Chevron lace cardigan progress

The yarn is Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool and in its lifetime it’s tried to be a shawl and a jumper but neither seemed right. Finally, I think we’re settling in together to be a new version of a favourite cardigan. I’ve worn the original to death and last week i thought if I didn’t replace it with something fresh, I’d be sad. You might remember it.

Chevron Lace Cardigan Side

Then I made another for Alice’s mum. In black. She also wears hers to death. I expect a request for another in a year or two.

Chevron Lace Cardigan

I like hers with the shorter sleeves so that’s how mine will look. Very good for spring wear.

It’s nice to be crocheting again. I haven’t done any for a while and when I return to crochet, I’m always delighted to slip back into that gentle, rhythmic motion – not to mention how quick it is!

Part of the busy weekend was that Alice was a flower girl in a friend’s wedding and she slept here the night before. I wasn’t there so I don’t yet have any photos of her all done up but I was at the salon when she had her hair done. The poor poppet was so tired on the day – we’d all been awake, thanks to Miss A, since just after 5am so her patience was stretched a little but she sat still long enough to have a curling iron put through her hair for the first time.

Curls before the wedding

I’m told she walked down the aisle charmingly, with a little bag of rose petals to scatter but before long she got grumpy and fell in the mud at which point she was whisked away and no doubt bathed and put to bed. I’ll try and get hold of a picture of her in her long burgundy dress – before the mud incident obviously!

Now, for more crochet and a cup of tea.

Bells

15 thoughts on “Of Crochet and Curls

  1. You’ve been busy finishing lots of projects Bells! I like all your versions of this cardi – perhaps I can add it to my list of “things for me”. I’ve been looking for a first cardigan project but I’m a litle bit daunted about getting the fit right, this cardi seems at least superficially quite forgiving in that respect.

  2. The crochet is just lovely, I’ve been thinking more and more about taking it up and you cardigans are just the inspiration I need.

  3. I haven’t done any crochet for ages – and I certainly am not up to making a garment. Miss Alice looks cute with her curled hair. Older Grandson is due for his first haircut – DD is dreading the fuss!!

  4. You make me think that I should crochet myself one!! Red will be a great colour to have, and short sleeves makes e want to make one more!!
    Oh, Alice is such a good girl, I await her be-dazzling flower girl pictures eagerly!!

  5. Oh, she looks cute! Bet she was great! (And I’m with Barbara – I’d love to see the muddy shots, too!) I think the cardigan will look great in the Silky Wool – it’s one of my favorite yarns!

  6. Or a muddy Alice picture would be good too. Durwood says kids don’t look right unless they’ve a smudge of dirt, a rip, and a bandage. They’re an adventure!

  7. I like the short version, it’s such a practical solution for the use of layered clothing and our weather which seems to be all over the place at the moment. I can’t seem to get into the crochet thing, my mind doesn’t naturally work that way, but I too like the freedom and speed f it 🙂

  8. Looking forward to a photo of the little flower girl.

    I like your blue cardi with the 3/4 sleeves but really like the shorter sleeve in the black version. I think it suits the pattern better, although I would probably have done the longer sleeves myself.

  9. Oh my, it’s a leap of faith to have kids that young in a wedding! I hope Miss A managed to enjoy herself a bit before the mud and the exhaustion! My girl wakes up between 5 and 6 too. It’s mind-staggeringly exhausting for me.

  10. I have been doing a bit of crochet lately – I love it for the ease and speed too!

    Good idea to make a summer version of the chevron cardi. Another pattern I have on my to-do list! Maybe for next winter…

Leave a Reply

