That Wasn’t Supposed To Happen

Lilac leaf

With just over a week to go until my brother’s wedding, I was getting close to finishing the shawl I’ve been knitting for a couple of months to wear on the day.

Earlier this week, the unthinkable happened. I ran out of yarn. The Cascade Kid Seta dwindled down to a few metres and I still had twenty rows of the final chart to go.

Curses!

All I’d done was add one extra repeat of the leaf chart to the body. Just one. I never thought it would make that much difference! I hate unpicking fluffy yarn so I knew I had to try getting more of it before I faced that particular challenge.

I’d bought the original three balls from an eBay seller who miraculously still had four in the same dyelot.

What a relief!

The wedding is a week tomorrow. I think I’ll be ok.

Once this is done, I’ve got another special occasion piece of lace to knit. It’s still in the planning stages but I’m excited. It’s always such a thrill to be at that point of finishing something big and standing on the edge of starting another!

Bells

16 thoughts on “That Wasn’t Supposed To Happen

Leave a Reply

