Yet Another Chevron Lace Cardigan

I think this is a record. This week I completed my third crocheted chevron lace cardigan! That doesn’t include the two I began and abandoned.

chevron lace

Here’s a recap. The first, made in 2009, looks like this:

Chevron Lace Cardigan Side

I loved it but it’s starting to show signs of wear. I’ve worn it a lot. Then I made one for my sister. This one convinced me sleeveless is a good thing. She wore this a lot!

Chevron Lace Cardigan

Both of these were made with Bendigo Woollen Mills Luxury 8 ply. A great yarn for it but I wanted to use up four skeins of Cascade 220 – four skeins weren’t really enough for a full cardigan so I thought a nice sleeves garment would be just the thing. I was right. I used about 3.5 skeins of this lovely rich, chocolate brown.

There was nothing hard at all about changing this to a worsted weight pattern (it’s written for DK weight). I just chose the size that seemed right for me and because it’s all top down, just tried it on periodically and made it according to my measurements.

I also made the fabric a little denser by doing it on a 5.5mm hook.

chevron lace 1

It’s lovely and warm. I know sleeveless doesn’t make sense as a winter garment but if I’m out and about, I’ve got a coat on. Then when I’m indoors, it’s a nice, comfortable cardigan.

This photo that Sean took is blurry. I am going to call it arty instead!

chevron lace back

The colour looks a little purple in this photo but really, it’s a dark, heathered chocolate brown. I really love it.

It was great to have this as a ‘break from knitting’ project. I’ve been experiencing some hand and shoulder pain lately and using a different set of muscles seems to have helped. I always love going back to crochet as a reminder that there’s an ease and comfort in the rhythmic creation of the fabric. I’m really glad I trusted my instinct and had a go at making it in a heavier yarn. A really good move, I think.

I may still add a few extra buttons. I bought about five but stopped at one. I’ll wear it a bit and see how it goes. My last one had no fastening at all so to have even one button feels like quite a change.

You can find the pattern here on a now defunct blog.

I wish the designer would come up with other crocheted cardigans. There are so few out there that appeal to me and this one, evidenced by the fact I’ve made it three times, is such a simple, pleasurable piece to make. I’d love to see what else she would come up with!

Bells

17 thoughts on “Yet Another Chevron Lace Cardigan

  1. Ooooooh Bells, that is a gorgeous cardi! I think I’ll give it a go when I finish my current projects. I think I need a bit of a swap to crochet for a bit too! I love a good top-down cardi! Gorgeous!

  2. Looks like a great layering piece! I remember that blue one – must have been your avatar on Rav or something like that? Anyway, I think it looks great, well done.

  3. The sweater is a cute one but I noticed your hair looks lighter. It’s beautiful.

    Every once in a while, I like to pull out the crochet hook and remind myself where I started. (and how far crochet has come)

  4. I agree, far too few good crocheted cardigans. Your Chevrons all look good, and I can see the value of shorter sleeves for Winter.

  5. I love having a pattern I like enough to repeat – and repeat again! And I have to say, sleeveless isn’t as silly as you think it will be – I wear my Rosamund a ton.

  6. i just love this pattern, bells! I loved your blue one, and this one looks like a great fit and the denser fabric is really nice. i wish i was brave enough to tackle it – i’m a bit scared about my ability to follow a crochet pattern. i can crochet, but usually just make it up.

  7. Yup, I thought purple in the photo. Isn’t that funny?! I like a top closure for cardigans too, it’s how I wear them most often. And I think sleeves or not really depends on the person. I see a lot of patterns like that and it’s a very cute look, I’m just a cold person and if I’m cold enough to wear wool, I need sleeves. I have some sleeveless vest-type knits done in cotton though and they work well for me!

  8. I wear a sleeveless knit cardi a lot, they are very versatile garments!

    I thought it was blue!! Heh heh. I was hoping to make one of these this year but I don’t know if I will get there…maybe! Perhaps I should consider making it sleeveless too!

  9. It looks great. I thought it was purple when I first saw it too. What a great addition to your wardrobe, and I think short sleeves are great as you can layer long sleeves underneath it.

Leave a Reply

