Cria Cardigan

I’ve got a newly finished cardigan and I love it. It’s the Cria Cardigan by Ysolda Teague, a designer I’ve loved for a few years now. This is my second major piece designed by her and I think it’s going to be a wardrobe favourite.

Cria

I finished it a few days ago and when I visited RoseRed today in Sydney, she kindly helped me out with some photos.

Cria is a stunningly simple and elegant design, all the while being an innovative and moderately challenging knit. I began it the day the Olympics started – a sort of unofficial entry for the Ravellenic Games – and knew it was never going to be done by the end of the games.

Cria back

I’d really love to know more about how Ysolda came up with the construction of this cardigan. It’s really quite something else. You begin with two small rectangles for the shoulders and then join them up and do a bunch of short rows and suddenly you have a rather lovely bodice. Even now I look at it and wonder how it actually happened. It’s stunning stuff that keeps you on your toes as a fascinating piece of work before you settle in for the seemingly endless body.

Cria bodice

I almost didn’t add the pockets. I wondered if they were just a design feature that wouldn’t prove useful but then I decided that usefulness isn’t always the only reason you’ll add something to a piece. You wouldn’t put anything heavy in them – they’d drag down the cardigan – but you can rest your hands there and small items and actually they were just a fun knitting addition. I’ve not done pockets before. I liked them.

Cria pocket

I deliberately made it a little longer than the pattern stated – it was always going to be a layering piece (hence why I kept the sleeves short) – and I’d worried it might turn out a bit small. Turns out I needn’t have worried – it’s actually a bit too big – but it’s comfortable and goes well over other tops. I’m not sure why the sleeves turned out so poofy – possibly short row miscalculation on my part –  but they did and I like the effect.

Cria sleeve

I absolutely want to make another one and would definitely make it a size smaller. It’s just a bit too roomy and could do with some bust and waist shaping I think. I’d also leave out making all the extra button holes – which I’m going to sew closed on this one because I have no intention of using them.

Cria

It feels so good to have finished one last ‘winter’ cardigan just as the weather is warming up. It’ll help on the Spring days that are still a bit chilly and it’ll be ready for Autumn next year.

The yarn is Berocco Ultra Alpaca, which I just love. So soft, such lovely drape. The colour is Redwood – such a rich, warm colour.

Many thanks to RoseRed for the photos. Great to hang out with you again after so long.

Bells

13 thoughts on “Cria Cardigan

  1. Pingback: Progress. Of Sorts. The Estonian Edition. | Bellsknits

  2. I say yes to bust shaping it is a wondrous thing!! Your Cria looks lovely, I shall click through to The Ravelry to check out the wool you used. I must not have pockets, if there was accidentally a biscuit in one it could be chewed!!

  3. you can tell you’re visiting RoseRed – such a great smile you have on!

    I predict this will be a high-rotation Spring garment, it looks like the perfect not-too-hot-not-too-cold garment.

    and I *love* the colour on you!

  4. Sometimes you just have to take a deep breath and trust the designer. This is why I am not a knitwear designer. They are so clever.

    You look wonderful in this sweater. It looks soft and comforting as well as comfortable. Perfect for layering.

  5. Cria is on my list…perhaps I’ll buy the yarn after Christmas. Good to know I can come to you with any confusions. 🙂 Red is an excellent choice for a cardigan, too–lovely photos!

  6. I find her patterns are so thoughtful and clever; I’m making a Marin now (still…) and it’s such a puzzle – I keep thinking, “how did she think to do that?” Very clever. And I love the piece on you, too. You’ll get a lot of wear out of it. Hope you had a nice visit with RR! How fun!

  7. It is a most intriguing construction, and such lovely yarn! And I do love pockets! I think this is the best pattern from her book, excellent choice! And so glad I could help out with photos!

Leave a Reply

